Sprung….

IMG_4049Spring has “sprung here on the mountain. The buds on the trees are starting to “pop”, flowers are rising everywhere and ferns are doing that amazing fiddlehead thing they do as they begin to unfurl. Our steps are becoming lighter, smiles bigger and there is a fresh start among all of us. We bet you are feeling the same way!

I took a long walk up the Naked Ground trail in Joyce Kilmer the other day looking everywhere IMG_4007 (1)   for all of the signs of spring. Listening to Little Santeetlah creek as it rushed and rocked over the large granite chunks that form its bed I am always amazed at the feeling I get when I’m in those woods. I took my shoes off and felt the dirt under my feet and the twigs crack as my weight bore down on them. I was connected……to something much bigger than I.

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity.” – John Muir

I believe what Muir wrote all of those years ago. It is even more so now. I know how it can be to live in the city and I made the decision to move to the wilderness twenty years ago. Snowbird is my home and the woods that surround it offer all of us that necessity that Muir speaks of. Here in rural western North Carolina is that place that you can come home to. Won’t you come join us here? Take a day, or two, or three and come share this amazing place……

IMG_4043I hope you take a moment today to go outside, wherever you are….take your shoes off…walk in the grass….and feel the amazing spring Earth beneath your feet and let it feed your soul….

Robert Rankin

Innkeeper, Adventurer, Explorer

One thought on “Sprung….

Leave a Reply

